Autobiography Reflection

As a class we determined that very few of us had included our sexual orientation and race within our autobiography. This was something that I did not even consider in my information. Maybe, I foolishly thought that through my stories I would stereotypically convey that I am a white heterosexual female. Maybe, since I am part of the dominant race in Saskatchewan I subconsciously thought that I did not need to include it. Whatever the case is, it is interesting that within our class that few chose to include this as part of their autobiography. Even though, it is a vital part of our identity. Our race and sex co-determine many factors within our lives. I wonder if I was part of a minority race or if I was not heterosexual, would I have included that within my autobiography? Is this something that I would of deemed necessary to express?

Leave a Reply

