Channeling my inner granny?!!

This week I bought my supplies. It was a bit overwhelming venturing into Walmart and seeing the walls of materials.IMG_5784

Eventually I decided on some lovely charcoal coloured wool and a crochet hook and was on my way. I got home excited to create some amazing masterpiece I had many visions for the scarves I would create, outfits for my cat, baby clothes for friends, and maybe a nice hat. After a few minutes I realized, much to my dismay, that I am most definitely not a crochet prodigy. I YouTubed how to crochet a scarf for beginners and found thousands of videos that I could use. I settled on I Am Kristin‘s video. This video is great because it is for right handed people and is filmed very close up in order to see exactly how her fingers moved. She was teaching the double crochet stitch. I did not realize how involved crocheting is. Even the way you wrap the yarn around your fingers is very important. I struggled for quite a while and created this masterpiece:

IMG_5800

I know it looks like a rat’s tail!

I know that it is not near perfection but… it is a start and crocheting is something I am absolutely clueless about. Also, there is no direction to go accept for up πŸ™‚

Until next time!

 

6 thoughts on “Channeling my inner granny?!!

  1. Looks awesome for your first attempt at crocheting Larissa! I have never been brave enough to attempt it but maybe after following you learning project I will give it a shot! I hope that you can build up your skills to make your cats some clothes. Haha! I also love the positivity you show in your posts! Good luck with your learning project.

Leave a Reply

