Starting Young!

It was brought to my attention this week that in some schools knitting and crocheting is being taught! These skills are being “woven” (I am so punny) throughout the curriculum! I love this idea and am super jealous of these stellar kids, who are going to grow into people who make the best homemade gifts. Here is one article of many that I have found!

Specifically Waldorf schools seem to encourage crocheting, which is the focus of the above article. I find this sentence insightful.

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 8.52.56 PM

You can see that they are quite well vested in creating coozies, hats, and squares. So far my skills have allowed me to make squares. I absolutely will take lessons from these students. Throughout the article it is evident that the students love their crocheting and knitting time!

Growing up in a small town school, I did not have the luxury of a home economics class. I feel as though I missed out on a few home skills, that I would appreciate being able to do now. Just look at these kids crocheting like little pros!

These kids are putting me to shame and I am a bit jealous! I better get back to work AKA struggling!!

2 thoughts on “Starting Young!

  1. Celina Risling

    Hi Larissa! I read further into the article you posted because I was curious how you could fit handwork into the curriculum. I am very jealous of these kids and I truly think they are fortunate of the skills they are learning. I have always wanted to learn to knit and I’ve tried hard with youtube tutorials with no success. No one in my family knows how to do it and so I’m glad it will not by a dying skill!

    1. Thanks for your comment! I know I agree completely. No one in family has done it either! I think this is an effective tool we can use in the classroom. Not only does it work on fine motor skills, but it also helps with concentration and working independently. I am a bit jealous of these kids!

Leave a Reply

