Coding – it’s not all bad!!

Alright, so when we talked about coding last week in class – I’m not going to lie I initially was freaked right out! How… Whaa…. Bahhh…. Buuuuut I have learned that its actually not the worst thing invented. I got interested in playing this sweet Frozen game and it was not too bad. They even give you congratulations when you do something good! Makes you feel all sorts of special!

Screen Shot 2016-03-28 at 7.37.15 PM

Look at that nice congratulation document! All in all this coding game was quite enjoyable. As I weaved my way through puzzles, I actually found that I was enjoying myself.

I tweeted this article out that I thought was extremely interesting.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 3.30.35 PM

I was curious as to how this occurred. After reading through the article I came to have a great deal of respect for Gupta and what he is working on. This first quote I enjoyed.

Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 3.35.52 PM

He encourages children to embrace the tech world! He stresses that this does not increase their screen time by hours. What he wants is…Screen Shot 2016-03-30 at 3.36.12 PM

Basically he has created a way to incorporate the use of robots in the classroom. Seriously read the article, it may be a lot easier than you originally thought.

The point of this post – you can include code into your elementary school teaching! Do not be afraid!!

 

2 thoughts on “Coding – it’s not all bad!!

  1. Hi Larissa, the congratulations on the coding made me excited too! I like how you shared parts of the article that were important. If I didn’t try coding in this class, I would probably be a little intimidated to teach it in my class or avoid it all together. Now I am excited to find a way to incorporate it into students learning.

    1. Thanks so much for your comment! Honestly, I never would have considered teaching code to the young students especially. It definitely is something that I am willing to try now.

Leave a Reply

