Spreading the Knowledge

After learning about crocheting in the classroom last week, I decided to view the different resources that are available to teach children. I realize that I am not a natural but I have mastered the basics. If put into a situation I could teach the basics to students, and I honestly think that this is something I would do.

I have found this blog on Feedly called Nattypat. This blog caters to all ages but uniquely there is an extensive section that caters to teaching children age 7 and younger how to crochet. I love this site because it provides very slow instruction. It has written, diagrams, and video instruction to assist in your teaching. Once the students feel comfortable there are patterns that they can follow to create simple hats, scarves, slippers, and maybe one day this adorable little dog…

Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 1.20.18 PM

(www.nattypatcrochet.com/blogsp/)

and maybe one day they can achieve this Yoda cell phone case…

Screen Shot 2016-04-02 at 1.20.39 PM

(www.nattypatcrochet.com/blogsp/)

So cute!

Incorporating crocheting into the classroom is something that I had never considered, now I realize that this absolutely is an asset! Some students may even develop it as a self-regulation strategy!

I know that I will continue to work on my technique and strategies (I still need a lot of work), but it is something that I will definitely throw into my class room now and again!

Leave a Reply

