My crochet career is over…. for now!

So, over this last semester I have gone from someone who knows zero about crocheting to someone who knows a bit about crocheting! I am by no means an expert! I have also discovered that I do not really enjoy crocheting… I know a lot of people crochet to relax themselves. This is not really my way of relaxing at all!

 

This is not my face while crocheting ever…

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 2.33.51 PM

(image from: http://www.craftyarncouncil.com)

It is more along the lines of this…

Screen Shot 2016-04-08 at 2.36.59 PM

(image from: www. wagnernutrition.com)

As of right now, I have made the executive decision that crocheting is not quite for me! Maybe once I start collecting a few grey hairs and am enjoying retirement I will be more invested!

That being said, I did learn some neat things. The most beneficial piece that I have learned was that I can incorporate crocheting (simple) into teaching. I followed some neat blogs and I created some “interesting” squares!

Overall, crocheting is not my thing… but I truly enjoyed myself! This was a positive learning experience and I discovered that I have grown myself as I thought about my key learnings.

My key learnings:

  1. Use the Assistance of the Internet – Without the internet, my learning would have occurred at a much sloooower pace. The internet has opened up a vast amount and variety or helpful ideas. Personally I found blogs, videos, articles, photos, diagrams, FAQs, and step by step instructions. These were all extremely helpful in their own ways.
  2. Be patient –  I have a hard time being patient and waiting to get better at something. I want instantaneous results. This was clearly not the case! It is important to remember not to get frustrated when things do not quite work out the way that you wanted them to.
  3. Don’t be afraid to seek help from outside of the internet  – Technology has obviously assisted me the most throughout this Learning Project. That being said I also seeked assistance outside of the internet. I incorporated help from my mother-in-law. Having hands on, direct help with instant feedback definitely assisted me!
  4. Don’t be afraid to share your progess – At the starting I was a bit embarassed to share my odd misshapen crochet creations. After I shared them and got super positive feedback, I became not as self-conscience because I realized that we are all in the same boat. A lot of us ventured far out of our comfort zone.
Leave a Reply

